top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichael

The Loaf: Week 5 College Football Picks

Alright, alright. I know. I've been missing from this site. I promise The Loaf isn't gone. In an effort to promote my school newspaper, I made the previous 2 Loaves exclusive on The Wolverine Times.


That said, we’re back at it again for Week 5 of the College Football season! I’ll admit, last week was rough. We went 2-4. But we’re still over .500 for the season at 17-13, and you can’t be too mad at that.


No time for jibber-jabber. We’ve got work to do, so let’s get to it, yes? I’ve got 5 plays this weekend.


First is one of two ranked-vs-ranked games this weekend, #18 Virginia @ #10 Notre Dame (UNDER 48.5). Both of these teams’ defenses are really good. In fact, I’d go so far as to say Notre Dame’s is elite. I liked what I saw from it last season, and it was honestly somewhat respectable in what was otherwise an embarrassment against Clemson in the Cotton Bowl last season. And the Irish have maintained that this season. The secondary is lock-down for the most part, and they have consistently been able to pressure the quarterback. This doesn’t bode well for Virginia, who I also can’t foresee strolling into South Bend and racking up tons and tons of yards. It just doesn’t seem like something that’s going to happen. The brands don’t allow it. That said, Notre Dame isn’t going to have an easy go of it, either. Bronco Mendenhall has a very solid defense on his team, that’s already been tested in a hostile environment this season. They have it in them to keep this game close into the second half I think. Notre Dame 31, Virginia 14



Former Virginia commit Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah (6) has been a big part of the Irish’s success on defense this season. Now he faces a team from his home state, one that he previously was committed to. Spicy. Photo Credit: The Athletic


I’ve got two picks this one: Give me Temple (-8.5) vs Georgia Tech, as well as the (UNDER 49.5), and honestly, I don’t even know what to say about my Yellow Jackets right now. It’s really bad. Tough times indeed in Atlanta. For that reason, I am now fading Georgia Tech until they give me a reason not to. That’s all there is to it. And in terms of the point total, Georgia Tech’s offense is so bad. So bad. I can’t rely on it to give me more than 14 in any given game. And I really don’t think Tech’s defense is too bad. I honestly don’t. Clemson was an aberration because it’s Clemson. And The Citadel is also an aberration in my book because it was the option. I’m not gonna say Georgia Tech is a principle under team yet, but it’s on its way no doubt. Temple 31, Georgia Tech 13



Georgia Tech’s uniforms against The Citadel were pretty great. That’s about all the Jackets have going for them right now. Photo Credit: Sun Herald


Up next I’m going with Stanford (-3) @ Oregon State. I’m thinking this line is just an overreaction, honestly. Sure, Stanford isn’t great this year. They’ve lost 3 in a row and they’re just 1-3 on the year. But their schedule has been rough. They went to USC and lost. Understandable. They then got blown out on the road against UCF, who I would argue is one of the best 15 teams in the nation. Forgivable. Then they got beat by Oregon, who, again, is just a really good team. Stanford isn’t really that bad. They’re just a mediocre team who ran into a buzzsaw. But Oregon State isn’t that. At all. And Stanford is better than a field goal better than Oregon State. I’m sure of it. Stanford 27, Oregon State 10



I promise. Stanford isn’t that bad. They’ll be fine. Photo Credit: The Stanford Daily


We now head to the Plains. Give me #7 Auburn (-9.5) vs Mississippi State. Frankly, I think Auburn is really good. I think the Tigers have a shot to do that thing where they beat both Georgia and Alabama again this season (LSU is a different story but still). Auburn’s defense is, yet again, frighteningly good. Derrick Brown, among others, are a major force to be reckoned with on the Tiger defense. On the flip side, Bo Nix is something special at quarterback for Auburn. Once he puts it all together? Woof. Plus, you can’t forget about Anthony Schwartz, among other weapons in Gus Malzahn’s offensive arsenal. It’s a lot. Plus, Mississippi State just ain’t all that this season. At least I don’t think so. Just very meh. With this game being a night game at Jordan-Hare, I feel confident Auburn will leave no doubt. Auburn 38, Mississippi State 7



Derrick Brown. The best player in this year’s NFL Draft. Remember the name. Photo Credit: 247Sports


That’s all I’ve got for this week’s The Loaf. Happy College Football Saturday!!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page