top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichael

The Loaf: Week 0 College Football Picks

Welcome back to The Loaf! It's hard to believe, but football season is finally upon us! As I write this, it's officially the first College Football Saturday, and Miami-Florida kicks off in exactly one hour!


With football season returning, The Loaf returns as well! My season preview edition of The Loaf dropped yesterday, but this will be my first post containing actual gambling picks since December, so it's been about eight months! Man, it's good to be back. Just to recap once more, we went an impressive 30-18 in an abbreviated season (due to me not starting this series until Week 10 of last season).


This time we get started on time, but It's going to be an abbreviated selection this week, because there are only two games being played. However, I do have a pick for each game that I feel really good about, and a third one that I'm feeling alright about, so I'd like to believe we have some TOA$$$$T coming our way:


I'm going to begin with Hawaii (+11) vs Arizona *and* Hawaii vs Arizona (OVER 71.5). This was originally the only game scheduled for Week 0 before the big wigs elected to move Miami-Florida up a week to kickoff the CFB 150 season, and, frankly, I would've been just as excited had this been the only game being played today. I think it's going to be awesome. I'm not exactly sure why Hawaii is such a big underdog though. Hawaii was a better team than Arizona last year, and returns Week Zero Cole McDonald (if you know you know). Seriously, though. This game is being played in Aloha Stadium, and you're going to have a hard time convincing me that Arizona is going to be able to stop Hawaii from moving the ball. I'm sure Arizona will score a lot, too, and that's why I decided to take the over too. Both these defenses are really bad, so points will be had. That said, I hate what Kevin Sumlin has done to Khalil Tate's game, and I don't trust the Wildcats to even win this game necessarily, let alone win by 11. Hawaii 41, Arizona 35


QB Cole McDonald lit up Colorado State last year in the opener in Week 0. Look for him to do the same this year against Arizona. Photo Credit: Bleacher Report

The other game this week this Miami (FL) vs #8 Florida, and I'll take the (UNDER 46.5). This is it, the game of the week, the clash between Sunshine State rivals to open the season. But I'm here to tell you that, offensively at least, this game will be ugly. The Canes will be starting redshirt freshman Jarren Williams at quarterback tonight, who has completed one pass in his entire career, and it came against Savannah State. I'm not trying to knock him, but he's inexperienced, and will be playing on a big stage under the bright lights, against a very, very good Florida defense. You could easily turn this around the other way, too. Feleipe Franks will be Florida's starter, and it's starting to feel like this is his 10th or 11th year down in Gainesville. And that's not necessarily a good thing. I know Dan Mullen is the QB whisperer, and Franks has supposedly improved, but I'm just not a fan. He just is not that good. And Miami's' defense is really hecking good. I'm excited to see how they look with Manny Diaz the head coach rather than Manny Diaz the defensive coordinator. Long story short, I think we see the turnover chain a couple times tonight, and likely as a result of something Franks does. There won't be many points scored tonight. Florida 24, Miami (FL) 19


Jabari Zuniga is one of a host of studs on the Florida defense. Look for him to get to Jarren Williams tonight, having a good game against a pretty bad Miami offensive line. Photo Credit: New York Post

So that's all I've got for this Week 0 edition of The Loaf! College Football is BACK, baby!!!!!!


Let's. Get. That. TOA$$$$T!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page